2018 Humpty’s Champions Cup

Team Balderston and Team DeJong from the Peace will be playing this week at the Grand Slam of Curling’s 2018 Humpty’s Champions Cup in Calgary! The Humpty’s Champions Cup showcases all of the top winners on tour over the course of the season in one final showdown.

Team Balderston is composed of: skip: Kurt Balderston, third: Karsten Sturmay, second: Rob Bucholz, and lead: Del Shaughnessy

Team DeJong is composed of: Forth: Janais DeJong, skip: Delia DeJong, second: Kayla Skrlik and lead: Amy Jenko.

Draws, scores and other information can be found here: http://www.thegrandslamofcurling.com/curling/champions-cup/2018-humptys-champions-cup-mens-scores/





Alberta Mixed Provincial Champions – Team Balderston

Congratulations to Team Balderston from the Grande Prairie Curling Centre. Kurt Balderston, Janais DeJong, Les Sonnenberg and Adrienne Winfield have won the Alberta Mixed Provincial!!! They will be representing Alberta at Nationals in the fall.

Team Balderston mixed champs 2018

Spirit of Sandra Junior Scholarships

logoThe 2018 Spirit of Sandra Junior Scholarship application is now open. The Spirit of Sandra Junior Curling Scholarship is intended for young athletes who curl competitively while pursuing a post-secondary education. Recipients must be 20 years of age or under as of June 30, 2018 and therefore eligible to compete as a junior curler. The scholarship is awarded to 6 deserving junior curlers.

For more information or to apply visit the Spirit of Sandra website: http://www.sandraschmirler.org/english/spirit-of-sandra/

Club Championships 2018

Thank you to the Red Willow Curling Club for hosting the 2018 PCA Club Championships!

Congratulations to following teams that will be advancing to the Travelers Provincials in the fall:

  • PCA “A” Men: Fahler Curling ClubPCA Men's A 2018 Club Championships

    • Skip Kelsey Dusseault
    • Third: Ryan Konowalyk
    • Second: Ryan Dumont
    • Lead: Marc Boisvert
  • PCA “B” Men: Red Willow Curling ClubPCA Men B 2018 Club Championships

    • Skip: Brad Vancuren
    • Third: Derek Muceniek
    • Second: Mike Hogan
    • Lead: Nick Harris
  • PCA “A” Women: Fairview Curling Club PCA Women's A 2018 club champions

    • Skip: Deanna Jonson
    • Third: Annette Laue
    • Second: Sue Biegel
    • Lead: Lillian Riegling
  • PCA “B” Women: Red Willow Curling Club

    • Skip: Shannon Slemp
    • Third: Lisa Dorscheid
    • Second: Michelle Sigurdson
    • Lead: Lana Swenson

The Winning team of the 2018 Mixed Club Championship is team Penson from the Redwillow Curling Club:

  • Skip: Duane PensonRWCC Duane Penson, Elaine Muceniek, Norm Leger, Arlene Simpson
  • Third: Elaine Muceniek
  • Second: Norm Leger
  • Lead: Arlene Simpkins
  • Alternate: Ashley Penson


Arctic Winter Games

Congratulations to Team Sonnenberg and Team Radke for both winning GOLD at the 2018 Arctic Winter Games! Both teams are from the Peace and represented Team Alberta North.PCA U18 A _ SonnenbergTeam Sonnenberg: Skip: Cortland Sonnenberg, Third: Owen Fenske, Second: Devin Moen Lead: Adam Elsenheimer, Coach: Les Sonnenberg

PCA U18 A _ RadkeTeam Radke: Lead: Brynn Lutz, Second: Lori Thorson, Third: Delaney Norrish, Skip: Micyla Radke, Coach: Carla Radke

Club Coach Clinic

David Hyatt will be conducting a Club Coach Clinic at the Manning Curling Club, March 17th & 18th.

The Club Coach clinic’s main focus is to teach coaches how to create an environment where junior curlers can continue to develop their skills and adult curlers can learn the skills and etiquette of curling in a safe, non-threatening manner. The Club Coach clinic is designed for coaches and instructors who will be working with adult or older juniors playing recreationally within their curling club. Club Coach instructors will be able to conduct Learn to Curl and advanced clinics within their club.

If you are interested in attending this clinic, please complete the registration form below and send it to peaccurl@telusplanet.net.

Clinic Registration Form